Trick-or-Treat Party

I never worry about Mike being left out of parties –

I am always too busy hosting our OWN, BETTER PARTY!!

images

For the past five years, I have hosted a Trick-or-Treat party for

our school’s Raider Buddies group. Our group averages approximately

50 ESE & typical students, teachers,

parents, and friends.

 

To ensure a successful and EASY party, I have streamlined the organizations.

Here are some of MY helpful party tips:

 * Send invitations EARLY and OFTEN, especially if you are dealing with high school kids- typically the first week in October (I’ve included a copy of MY flyer) …

* DO NOT LEAVE ANYONE OUT!!  If you have students living in group homes, as we do – arrange transportation/carpools EARLY. Oftentimes, proof of insurance is required to transport students that live in group homes. (It is very simple – just don’t wait until the last minute.) I actually invite the entire group home to participate. Last year, we had a developmentally delayed 39 year-old woman who Trick-or-Treated for the first time in her life.  She talked about it for MONTHS!

* Seek donations for Trick-or Treat bags – some kids will show up without them.  My grocery store hosts a Halloween event and is HAPPY to supply our group with bags.

*  Make sure EVERYONE has a costume. I typically keep some face paint on hand, just in case.

*  Have water bottles and stick one in every student’s bag.  We are fortunate to have a golf cart follow our group.  It carries extra water and assists when students (AKA Mike) get tired.

*  Have a CLEAR pick-up time on your invite.

* BE ORGANIZED:  I typically do not allow the students INSIDE my home for this event. If I do, they will make a mess and I will never get them motivated to leave on schedule.  I organize the bags, water bottles and candy, on tables, in my driveway.

* To ensure that my neighbors are prepared for a group of 50 or more teenagers, I send a flyer to ALL of my neighbors, notifying them of our group (I’ve included MY flyer).

*  Have an adult or typical student LEAD the group.  We pair our kids up with their buddies, but assign a LEADER to notify the homeowner that our group in there.

*  Snap a group picture and SEND A THANK YOU CARD TO YOUR NEIGHBORS! They will LOVE this and feel good about supporting our kids!

*  Invite your principal.  He/she probably will not come, but make them aware of the event. I am hoping to get some press coverage this year. 🙂

*  Bring flashlights

 

 

MY NEIGHBORS LOVE OUR GROUP!! Last year, I had a neighbor drop off candy and treats for our kids, prior to Halloween because she was not going to be home.  I also had a neighbor write a letter to our school board members bragging about our students.   

 

Raider Buddies

Trick-or-Treat Party

images

 You’re Invited to Trick-or-Treat

with Your Buddy!

At Mike’s House

XXXXXX

XXXXXX

XXXXXX

 

Halloween Night

6:30 – 8:30

Please come in your costume!  Bring a flashlight, candy bag, and

eat dinner prior to arriving.  We will be leaving promptly at

6:30 to Trick-or-Treat

If you need a ride or a costume,

contact Ms. XXXX

 images

 

Dear Neighbor,

My son, Michael has autism and is a special education student at XXX high school. I have invited the Raider Buddies club to Trick-or-Treat our neighborhood on Halloween night.

Raider Buddies is a school-sponsored club that encourages friendships between general and special education students.

Please be advised that some of the ‘special students’ in our group have challenges with language and personal space.  Some of our students can be fearful of scary costumes.  We will assign a leader to notify you when our group is approaching. I would appreciate your cooperation in not attempting to jump out to scare the students. While they are high school students, developmentally most are significantly younger. Also, one of our students is blind and navigating an unknown location can be challenging for him.  In addition, taking just ONE piece of candy can be a difficult concept for some of our kids.  If possible, I would prefer that you hand the students the candy, rather than allowing them to grab a handful.

I’m anticipating a group of approximately fifty (50) special and general education students, faculty, and parents.  I recognize that this is a large group, if you have an financial concerns about providing the extra candy, please call me and I will deliver you candy to provide to our group.

They are a wonderful group of kids – I promise they will not Trick, as long as you give them some Treats!

Thank you & Happy Halloween,

 

Autism Hippie

 

As you can see, I have done ALL the work for YOU!!  I hope

I have motivated you to get involved and plan your own

Trick-or-Treating party! 

IMG_8735

2 thoughts on “Trick-or-Treat Party

Leave a Reply

